I am old. Can I get into a top tier Statistics PhD program?

I'll try to give as much detail as I can without identifying myself:

I have a bachelors in Math and am working in industry as a data scientist (in tech if it matters.) As an undergrad I always liked the idea of going and getting a phd and returning to industry afterward, but life happened and that wasn't an option until recently. I'm turning 30 in 2019 and am starting a masters in stats at a top 20 stats department that I will finish in 2020. Naturally I'm revisiting the possibility of getting a phd.

Am I already out of the running at top 10 departments? Top 20? Moreover, what would I need to do and how would it differ from what some hot shot kid straight out of undergrad would have to do? Finally, is there a way to go in openly and consciously seeking to use the phd in industry, rather than academia, so that my age and experience in industry plays to my advantage - or are all top departments exclusively seeking to bring in future tenure track university researchers?

You are absolutely not too old. You may be on the older end but it's not ancient either. And it's not unheard of either to start a PhD in your 30s. I just looked at the UC Berkeley Statistics program and saw that there is one PhD student who finished his BS in 2002 and who entered the PhD program there in 2013 (I'm only aware of this because this student was one of the winners of a Student Paper Competition at JSM ). Looking through the PhD alumni at Berkeley Stats, I also see one alumnus who got his BS in 1997 and finished his PhD at Berkeley in 2012, and is now a Professor at Harvard. And there is another one who finished his Bachelor's in 1985 and didn't complete his PhD at Berkeley until 2013 (almost 30 years after he got his Bachelor's!).

So you're golden if you want to spend another 4+ years getting a PhD after you're finished with your Masters. :D

Edited by Applied Math to Stat