Is it worth applying to Canadian Graduate schools (US Applicant)?

facelessbeauty

Question

Hi all,

I'm a recent graduate from a top liberal arts school who is interested in pursuing graduate study for neuroscience/pharmacology in Canada, and I am also looking to eventually relocate here permanently. I found a few programs and professors whose research areas fit my interests, skills, and experience extremely well. Although the websites claim that international students are guaranteed a certain stipend, considering that most grant agencies place restrictions on use of funds for non-citizens or non-permanent residents, it makes me skeptical that I would be able to get in on the basis of not having available funding. I know that there are limited scholarship opportunities available for non-Canadian students, but my GPA is nowhere near high enough to be considered for them (I'm in 3.5-land, GPA wise). If anyone could answer these, I would really appreciate it:

• Am I competitive enough for my programs of interest even without the ability to bring in additional funding?
  • Even if I somehow manage to get in, how am I going to fund graduate study without going into a significant amount of debt?

Thanks!

2 answers to this question

Hi, I'm a current undergrad at University of Toronto. I applied to both US and Canadian schools for PhD programs this cycle (I am a dual citizen), and I'm good friends with a number of grad students in our department here, so hopefully I can vouch for the experience of international students.