Internet + Phone provider US

palabra45

Hey all, I'm an international student who's going to start their PhD in the US next fall. I found a few threads on the topic, but couldn't find a full answer to my issue.

As I am planning on staying for quite a while, I was wondering if there exists, in the US, an affordable plan that includes internet and mobile phone (with internet access), or if I need two separate contracts. I'm not interested in having a TV, I've lived without throughout my undergrad and grad life.

Cheers.

It is common to do two separate contracts. Bundles are meant for discounts. I haven't tried it myself, but in NC it seems possible to do a bundle phone+internet plan with AT&T. This depends on the specific region you are at though. You might have to check the new student guide from your school/graduate student union. 

In most cases an internet-only package is available. Just make sure your apartment is not forcing you to buy a cable plan.

Edited by schenar

Yes, there are some providers that offer both Internet and mobile phone (AT&T is one that comes to mind). However, there is rarely any bundled discounts for doing so. I think you are better off finding the best provider for both Home Internet and Mobile Phone independently, since you will likely save more money that way and get a plan that you like. Often, the internet providers available to you vary from location to location while phone providers are nationwide (i.e. more choices).