SLP vs AuD

I'm a junior CSD student so I have the option to pursue an AuD or MS/MA in speech path. I really like both, I have observed both, and find pros and cons of each. I think my biggest con of getting the AuD is the extra time in school and still getting almost the same salary as an SLP. My biggest con of SLP is how short term therapy can be so I feel like I don't build long-term relationships with clients. If you were on the fence about which to pursue please tell me what you picked and why! 

*cross-posted with the Audiology blog.

My dream is to be a AuD, but I can’t move so boo. I was accepted to be a SLP though, YAY! I prefer AuD almost for the sole purpose of how black and white it is audiology has text you run, in a particular order for the most part, and you get diagnosed with XYZ, and get a HA. Obviously more complicated than that, but you get the gist. With Speech and Language, it’s so vague. Who knows what is going to work for a certain client. That scares me. 

4 hours ago, jpiccolo said:

I’m not sure where you’re getting the short term part of SLP. Unless you’re working in acute care or rehab or a traveling SLP. In schools or private therapy you spend a lot of time with clients. 

I second this. SLP is a lot of long-term goals, especially for school or nursing homes...