MFA in Creative Writing...go unfunded to CCNY or do a third round of applications?

Ultimately, my admittedly unrealistic goal is to be a literature or writing professor. I realize that my chances are slim, so part of my thought process with grad school is that even if I end up continuing to work administrative jobs like I do now, at least a master's will allow me to apply for better jobs.

Two years ago, I applied to PhD programs, but failed at getting admitted to any. This time around, I lowered my sights and applied to MFA programs, resigning myself to do my master's first. The results are that every funded and well regarded program rejected me. The only school I was accepted to is the City College of New York, but I would have to loan out 50k to 60k over two years to finish the degree. I was declined from Columbia, NYU, New School, Hunter, and Rutgers Newark. Blargh. It's disappointing because I did a research fellowship as an undergrad, I've got nearly a dozen publications in literary journals - small ones, but it's still something - and a few years of work experience. 

Has anyone here gone to CCNY's MFA or is in it currently? Would it be worth it? 

They do have a few success stories that they boast about on their program page, but I’m just afraid that CCNY wouldn’t be a big step up. I started out at community college, worked full time while I while toiling away at a small state school, and wasn’t as active as I could have been, and I feel like a lot of these schools frown upon that background. Especially when I was applying to PhD programs. I’m honestly not too sure what I should do – I could just barely afford the cost of tuition and travel to City College of New York, and while I was mentally prepared with the possibility of taking large loans, I really hoped that it’d be at a school I could be certain is worth the money.