The Best MA Program for Every Social Science Field

I am here to clear any doubts of misconceptions people have about the Master of Arts Program in the Social Sciences at the University of Chicago. I am also here to make a case for how this is the best program for any social science field out there. Period.

The MAPSS is the University of Chicago's solution to consolidating every social science MA under one umbrella. It is a remarkably elegant solution as you have the freedom to explore your research interests if you haven't one already. If you have everything thought out and just want more time to prepare for graduate school admissions, perfect. This program does not lose out in terms of academic rigor to any MA program you can find out there.

I was a bad student in college. I attended one of the lower-ranked University of California campuses, and majored in Economics and Political Science. I had a 3.2 cumulative GPA by the time I graduated, and I scored 155V 155Q for my GRE despite taking the test 3 times. I was frankly, very discouraged. I was admitted to Stanford for college, but had to turn it down because my parents refused to pay for my tuition. They could afford it. They just did not want to. I did not enjoy my four years in college because I was bitter that I was forced to attend my school by the mere fact that I had gotten a full-ride. My parents essentially forced me to take up on the offer by categorically refusing to pay for any tuition. I went through one year of deliberately sabotaging my education. I was 17. When I came to my senses that I could still go to Stanford by getting a funded for my PhD, it was already too late. I applied to multiple PhD programs in Political Science, and was rejected even by my own UC school. Can you imagine?

UChicago gave me a way out. A full-tuition scholarship to the MAPSS program. I was rejected by their PhD program. It was my only option. I bought a one-way ticket to Chicago.