Building a CV after dropping out of college?

Hey all,

To make a long story short: I'm 22 and had to drop out of school a semester and a half before graduating thanks to my parents' finances and my mental health. For a while I was a fantastic student, but in the last year my GPA tumbled a lil bit thanks to all that was happening at the time. Now I'm out and working three "jobs": a part-time internship at a national magazine, bookselling at a local shop, and freelancing as a critic and journalist to a surprising amount of success.

I've been out since December 2017, and my time out has made me realize that I do want to go to graduate school to study Afro-Caribbean literature (specifics in my signature), so I intend on finishing undergrad (part-time, ofc) once I get a full-time job to offset the cost, because there's no way I can even approach that academia again for a few months.

So, I'm trying to bone up on my education outside of school, but I need some sort of direction for when it comes time to explain my unorthodox education during application season. I also want to apply to some tough schools because boredom was also an issue towards the end of undergrad. (I wound up learning a lot more on my own.)

My dream school is Columbia University for a lot of reasons, but I'm going to apply to 10 schools, including UCLA because, hey, it's also a stellar program, and my boyfriend loves LA a lot.

How would one go about preparing for a specific academic trajectory while out of school? Now that my life has regained some steady footing, I'm putting together a five-year plan that will (hopefully) land me at Columbia, or a comparable program.

Here's what I've got to work with:

- A position as an editor and columnist for a literary journal based in Brooklyn that specializes in lit criticism from indie presses. Been commissioning and writing criticism on African/Caribbean texts, as well as publishing excerpts from forthcoming books in the field.