Weak GPA strong GRE?

mondayscoffee

Hello!

I am currently in the process of applying to graduate schools specifically a PhD in Sociology. I am applying to the University of Washington (my undergrad), the University of Chicago and the University of Michigan. I don't have a very good GPA (3.0) will it help to have very strong GRE scores? I was going through a rough patch in my life while in undergrad but I have 7 years of related work experience and strong writing samples. I am not sure if my GPA will hold me back, any advice?

While each case is different, and I don't know much about the field of Sociology, in general, a high GRE can counter-act a poor gpa. However, what's more important is which portion of the GRE you score well on. For Sociology, I would assume scoring strongly on the Verbal and AW is more important than scoring well on the Quant section. 

• 2 weeks later...

An anecdote, but when I was in undergrad, I had a graduate student instructor who had a somewhat lower GPA and (IIRC) a near-perfect GRE score, with about five years of great research experience. She had a 3.4-3.5, but she was mainly applying to top 10 programs. She said there were a couple Ivy League schools that flat out refused to accept her despite the department and a specific advisor wanting her, but many schools overlooked her GPA (including Berkeley, which is where she ended up). She applied to a lot of schools, always contacted the professors she wanted to study under so they knew her name, and it worked out. I believe she got into a number of other top programs too. So, just an anecdote, but it's definitely possible!