First gen undergrad student seeking some advice

psychiscool

Hey!

I'm a rising junior majoring in Psych and Comp Sci. I attend a small, somewhat selective liberal arts school. I'm pretty involved on campus, i'm a Resident Assistant as well as many other things that im going to leave out bccc  anonymity. I have okay research experience, I was a Research assistant at my school twice in my freshman year, im currently conducting my own independent research which I started my sophomore year, and during the school year I am a research assistant at one of the top ten psych schools in the country, (i'm sorry i'm being vague i am just so paranoid) and for the summer, im a research assistant at an ivy. By the end of this internship, I believe I will be coauthored. I plan on conducting an honors research project in Psychology.

At this time, I haven't taken my GRE's but I plan on taking it first thing next semester and taking it until I get a score that is competitive. 

I'm a first gen student so graduate school isn't something any of my family has experienced, and consequently, I can't get much advice from them. I would love to end up somewhere in New York, Columbia or NYU - outside of New York, I LOVE The University of Washington. for example, but i recognize that those programs are extremely selective and no matter what I've done, there is someone out there who has worked twice and hard and achieved twice as much. That's why I'm here. My GPA is not amazing. I'm currently at a 3.2. I've taken pretty much every "execution" course at my college, so at this point, I can only see my GPA going up (fingers crossed). I believe that by the end of my senior year, it should be at a 3.5.