I don't feel I have enough research experience to apply, but a mentor is interested in me?

TrishaK1997

Hi,

So I'm a psychology undergraduate who unfortunately has pretty limited research experience for a rising senior. I began working an Autism Research Lab this January, now I'm completing a directed project with the lab for the summer, and I'll be writing a thesis with this lab for my senior year. I am also working in a psycho physiology lab this summer. A couple weeks ago, an Autism researcher from Dalhousie University visited my lab, and spoke to a few of the interns. She was interested in my project and asked if I was planning on applying to graduate school. I said yes but that I would probably be taking a gap year; however, I mentioned that I would apply this year if I had identified a really good fit. She emailed me this week and asked if I would like to Skype her. 

The reason I only recently became involved in research is because I was planning to go to OT school. I didn't believe in my ability to pursue a PhD until recently. 

So, if the Skype call goes well, I would be applying to Dalhousie's Clinical Psychology program this Fall. If the research fit is great, will that help compensate for my sort of limited research experience? Or should I still take a gap year? Thanks for the advice.

Okay, honestly I'm also a rising senior so I don't know how qualified I am to answer this, but I would say go for it! My advisor has told me that research fit is super important, and if this researcher has expressed enough interest to offer to Skype you, that's definitely worth an application. And even if you end up not getting in, you can take a gap year as planned.

10 hours ago, TrishaK1997 said:

Hi,