Hello all! I am getting ready to start getting stuff together for this upcoming app cycle and could use some advice. I am going to apply to programs in anthropology and public health this winter for fall 2019 matriculation (dual programs and schools that just offer both degrees separately). I was thinking of applying only to master’s programs because I don’t know if I’ll get in to any PhD programs right off the bat, but my undergrad research advisor thinks I should apply straight to PhD programs. I really do want to get my PhD and it would be nice not to have to spend more money than I need to, but I’m not sure I’ll be able to get in without publications and a specific research topic. I know what I want to study and do research on (medical anth, epidemiology, infectious diseases, epidemics and outbreaks, sexual health, disease mapping, water-borne diseases), but I don’t have a super specific question/dissertation topic decided yet.

Some background: I graduated May 2017 with BA Anthropology, biomedical science and public health-related minors, 3.5 GPA. 158V 157Q 4.0 GRE (I could definitely improve this if needed. I’d rather not have to spend the money but I can make it work). I am a current AmeriCorps VISTA and spent 6 months as a Peace Corps Volunteer as well (yay medical separation)—both positions in the public health field—and have tons of other public health education experience. I was a research assistant for my anth programs for 2.5-3 years on projects related to health demography/historical epi, maternal and child health, osteology and paleopathology; was a TA for 5ish classes; did clinical lab health research on parasites. I have 2 strong letters of rec lined up (anth professor/research advisor/mentor and a biomedical science professor/mentor) but am still deciding on who the third should be. No publications (yet—maybe this year) but a dozen posters and paper presentations under my belt.