GRE scores needed for top public health PhD programs

saheckler

Hi everyone, I just took the GRE and I got 97th percentile verbal but only 67th percentile in quant (I don't have my writing score back yet). When I took calc and stats in college (almost 15 years ago now) I got a C+ and a C because I blew them off, but I retook stats at the local community college and got an A last fall and am doing the same with Calc this fall, hopefully also for an A. I realize that all together this really makes me look weak in quantitative skills. I also do not have a master's degree, but I have several years of clinical nursing experience, experience in health education program planning and implementation, and will have two years of experience doing research with a faculty member at a prominent school of public health. I'll have a book chapter as first author under my belt (on LGBTQ+ health policy within nursing), a couple of articles where I'm one of many authors, and an oral presentation at a conference. Is it ridiculous for me to even consider applying to PhD programs at Harvard, Johns Hopkins, Washington, Berkeley, Yale, BU, etc. without a master's and with a low GRE quant score and my poor initial grade in calc and stats? I know that applicants without a master's have to be highly qualified to get in. I'm planning to do a few weeks of working with a GRE tutor on quant to boost my score as much as possible, but I don't know if it's realistic to think I"ll go from 67th percentile up to 90th percentile. Thank you for your input!