Ford Fellowship 2010

dalzir

Didn't see a topic for Ford yet so I thought I'd start one in order to share my anxiety with others :blink: I received honor mention/alternate status last year and I'm hoping this time around will be better especially since it's my last chance. Last year's notification was around April 9th, so it seems that it will be a few weeks before we know!

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It's great to apply while you're an undergrad. If you get it that's fantastic, if you don't then you still have two more opportunities to apply. My first year I didn't get anything but I learned a lot for the following year about how to write essays, get good letters of recommendation, etc.

I'm glad to see this forum! I have been anxious to hear from Ford for a few weeks now, although I know I have at least 3 more weeks to wait. This is my first time applying (I apply for the predoctoral). I'm trying to be optimistic but realistic about my chances at the same time. Best of luck to everyone :)

I am! Any idea when awards will be announced?

Last year, those who won awards were notified by email on April 10th, I believe, and those who did not receive fellowships received a regular letter in the mail. I would think they will continue with this method which was used for the first time last year...but we'll see.

• 2 weeks later...

Let the two week countdown begin! Based on the previous years results we should definitely begin hearing by the 9th! Fingers crossed

Yes, it is such a big deal to get one of these, both professionally and financially. I don't even dare to hope...but I find myself doing so anyway!

What year are others who applied for the predoctoral award? I'm in my second year. Last year I called the Ford office and they said that the award was really intended for students starting a Ph D program in the fall. I'm not sure how reliable that information was though.