Southern Baptist Sinkhole

Spejo_Rolub

Hi all. I'm new to Grad Cafe, but have been reading posts for some time.The advice and discussions of the collective whole have helped me quite a bit. For that, I thank you all.

Now, the bad news... 

I'm currently a ThM- OT student at Southwestern in Fort Worth. I completed my M. Div. from Southeastern in Wake Forest. I was a good Southern Baptist and, if things had remained as they were, would've gone on and done a PhD at Southwestern. But things have changed. I'm exploring new theological concepts that have shifted my worldview; concepts that any Southern Baptist or conservative would deem heretical. What was once a cozy, evangelical home for me has now become a liability.

I would still like to go on and pursue a PhD. I'm interested in a couple of areas in the OT: literary design, design patterns in narrative, and poetic metaphor. This dream is in jeopardy, primarily because I'm tied to SBC institutions that do not align with my beliefs. I think one user called attending an SBC school "the kiss of death" in academia, which I though was fitting.

I post on here for any advice you would have. I'm scheduled to finish the ThM in Spring 2020, so I'll be applying to PhD programs near and far in Fall of 2019. Do I have any shot whatsoever of getting into a program? I'm not talking about the Harvards, Yales, or Dukes; essentially, I'm looking at any decent program that will fund its PhD students. Any suggestions that would be a happy medium? Is there anything I could be doing right now to move from the SBC umbrella toward a less conservative foundation? 

Thanks, all. I've been stressing pretty heavily about this, so any crumb of advice you have will be more helpful than you know.

Gah, this is tricky.