Applying to a PhD program after completing one year of a MA

Hey everyone! I am in my first semester of a MA in literature program. I love the program but the cost of living, DC area,  is extremely stressful, I fully understand that I should have thought about that more in advance. So I’ve thought about transferring after the first year to another MA program. If anyone has any experience doing that I would love to hear about your experiences? My other idea was to just apply for PhD programs for fall 2019? I was coming from a different field of study which is why I went with MA programs to begin with. But would i have enough Literature experience now to apply to PhD ones or should i just finish out the MA first? 

I had a professor during undergrad who was doing an unfunded MA, and after one year of the MA applied to PhD programs and had a successful applicant cycle. It is definitely something I have heard of happening so I wouldn't shut down the idea, also the fact that you are in an MA will look good on PhD applications if you justify leaving for financial reasons.

I think there are some questions that are important to ask here:

1. How much prior experience in Literature do you have? Some programs require you to have a certain amounts of credits in order to apply for a Doctorate's in Literature.