Fall 2020 Biostatistics PhD Targets

CH1128

Hey guys! I am currently a masters student in Applied Statistics and will be applying to Biostatistics PhD programs for Fall 2020 admission. I was wondering if you could help me choose a range of school rankings to target. I would hopefully like to apply to programs in 5-20 range, but I am not sure if that is completely unrealistic. Is a school like UNC at all reasonable, or is that way outside of where I should target?  Thank you in advance for your help!

EDIT: I would also like to add that I have been self-teaching a significant amount of upper-level math since my undergrad days. Would it be worth it to take and do well on the GRE Mathematics Subject Test when applying to Biostatistics PhDs?

Undergrad Institution: ~70th ranked US university

GPA: 3.32 (3.58 in-major)

Majors: Math/Computer Science
Relevant courses: CS I (A-), CS II (A), Discrete Structures (A), Programming for Math & Science (A), Data Structures (A), Data Mining (A), Database Systems (A), Machine Learning (A-), Theory of Computation (A-), Computer Algorithms (B+),  Calc I (A), Calc II (A), Calc III (B-), Calc IV (A-), Discrete Math (B+), Linear Algebra (B), Differential Geometry (B-)

Graduate InstitutionBusiness school within undergrad institution

GPA: ~3.8

Degree: MS in Applied Statistics

Relevant courses: Statistical Theory I (A),  Statistical Theory II (A),  Applied Regression Analysis (A), Hierarchical Linear Models (A), Statistical Methods & Computation (A), Real Analysis (B+/A-), Numerical Analysis (B+/A-), Bayesian Analysis (A), Observational Studies (A)

Type of Student: Domestic White Male

Programs Applying: PhD in Statistics

Research Experience: 

1. My Bayesian Analysis course is an independent study course that will hopefully result in me publishing a biostatistics paper.
  2. I worked as a student researcher in a biometrics lab for 2 years and presented research at my university's undergraduate research symposium.