Advisor likely not getting tenure

Hi everyone,

I hope to get some advice on my situation. I'm in my 4th year of PhD. I have only one year left after the spring semester (graduating May 2020). My advisor is up for tenure review by the end of this semester and she will find out the result by May 2019. Since she hasn't got a lot of publications, I think it's likely that she will not get tenure. She is an awesome professor and researcher and I think everyone in my department knows that. It's just that she aims very high and tries to publish papers using huge models that take a long time to finish to get the papers out. Anyway...

My situation is that I'm close to ABD and like I said I only have 1 year left. I have been a good student, winning a few awards for teaching and researching within the department. I'm well liked among other professors in the department. I'm usually funded half by my advisor's grant and half by doing TA work. There are a few professors in the department that work in the same field I do and who I can certainly be happy to work with if my advisor has to go but they already have a few students and I'm not sure about their funding capabilities.

My question is, hypothetically if my advisor didn't get tenure, what should I do if I certainly do not want to follow her to her new institution (given that I have family here and close to getting done). Is it wise to start talking to the program director now? Is there anything I should do now or I should wait until my advisor finds out about her tenure result? I'm pretty worried about my future & would appreciate some advice. Thanks so much.

My initial thought would be is to ask whether you can work out some co-advisor situation. So have her still be your main advisor, but have someone basically 'graduate' you in your own department.