Should you send ALL GRE scores?

Hi everyone,

Posting quickly and hoping someone has some thoughts. Basically, I have taken the GRE (general) 3 times. I have anywhere from 5-5.5 on the writing, and 155-159 on the Verbal. My quantitative is very low except on one of them, but that is also the test that I got my lowest verbal score (155). 

Basically, I am wondering if I should send my complete score report to schools. I'm an MA student right now at CU Boulder and applying to doctoral programs in English. My sense is that I should probably just send the test with my highest verbal score (which is also the most recent test, from this October), but the quant is very low on that. 

I'm wondering if it's worth it/beneficial to send all of my scores. They'll see progress, but will also probably be confused about my quant scores, which jump around a lot. However, they will only see a very low quant score if I only send the test with my highest Verbal. 

I'm already concerned about my GRE scores because they are pretty low, so I want to make them stick out less if possible. Sending my complete record would probably be more distracting, I think? 

I appreciate any and all advice! Thanks in advance. 

--

Just as a side note, I know my scores are pretty low for PhD admission, but I am a strong applicant overall. Please avoid any discouraging words -- this process is scary enough! 

Edited by natalielouise

Hi @natalielouise,