How does the application process for grad school work?

Okay so I’ve made previous posts on here and stated I’m an undergrad sophomore. How does the application process work for grad school? Like do they consider my grades up until my last semester of senior year or do I apply after fall semester of senior year? Obviously I still have to do well spring semester I’m just confused because I’m seeing on here people are still waiting to hear back for an interview and I have friends that are seniors who already heard back for medical school or occupational therapy grad school. Sorry if my question seems done I just really don’t know!!

Hi! I don't know much about the graduate school application process for SPL, but I would suggest you maybe talk to a trusted professor about the process. You're also just a sophomore, so I wouldn't stress about the specifics about what point in your senior year to submit your application. It's a little early to worry about that. However, I'm sure SPL folks on the forum can give you some guidance!

Honestly, like most questions people ask on here the answer depends on the program. I think some might be sticklers and want you to have all the prereqs completed before you apply. However, I think most programs would let you apply during the fall of your senior year, especially if you're a CSD major. For schools with earlier deadlines you may not be able to submit the fall grades when you submit the application. If the school does their applications through CSDCAS, then there is an academic update window that provides you time to resubmit your transcript with fall grades included. In any case you'll have to submit your final transcript before you begin, so they'll definitely know your spring grades. You have to make sure you don't bomb your final semester, but if you're applying while still in school then obviously the last semester won't be factored into your GPA when applying.