MSW GPA?

K_Anne

Hi all,

I am currently in the process of applying to several online schools for my MSW. My primary schools are BU, Baypath University, UMichigan, Western New Mexico, and Fordham. My cumulative gpa is around a 3.3 which I know is on the lower side. I have 3 years of work experience, including 2 years in a residential setting, and 1 year doing outreach work for an in home therapy program. Are there any other schools I should be applying to that might be a good fit for my low stats? 

Interested to hear what others stats are, and their school of choice. 

University of Maryland School of Social Work. I was rejected in 2009 and accepted in 2011 and did well despite a GPA well south of yours (rhymed with eww point tea). Strong work and volunteer experience along with GRE scores in the 90th percentile got me in. 
3.3 is probably sufficient for most state schools. Did you take the GRE? 

@K_Anne hi. 

I had to take the GRE since my GPA was low and I would have probably done so anyway as I do well on those assessments. 
I would expect anything about 70th percentile on the GRE would be big points in your favor. Low scores probably wouldn't hurt. 
Social Work programs are generally looking for applicants that will be good social workers, not necessarily those with the highest GPAs. Work experience, commitment to the SW values and mission, maturity, commitment to social justice and service, overcoming personal adversity and learning from it, as well as leadership potential and experience can all be indicators of that. Powerful essays/ personal statements are likely more important than high GPAs since they set you apart from other candidates. 

I'd also recommend tailoring your message to each school as to why their program, not just any MSW, is where you really want to be.