Care to advise a lawyer turned would-be grad student?

xtina617

Hi all -

I'm hoping for the advice/perspectives of those better acquainted with the PhD app process than I am at the moment. This seems like a much more collegial environment than some of the other grad school / PS-specific sites out there, so here goes nothing. 

About me: 

• I'm a 30 something lawyer (UG: 2010, small LAC, magna cum laude, 3.8 in major; Law school 2013, 3.3 overall) looking to take time away from the practice of law (probably/hopefully leaving the law entirely) to pursue a PhD in political science. The loss of a "lawyer's salary" is not an issue. I do not have plans to try and break into academia after the completion of my degree, if I'm successful in getting admitted to any programs. I do know enough to steer clear of that pursuit given my background! 
  • I have the support (and strong LOR) of my UG advisor and two other PS faculty with whom I worked/studied closely as a student. 
  • I did not publish in UG, though I've written a number of articles in high profile legal publications; to wit, I have nothing that I could use as a writing sample.
  • I plan to take the GRE this summer after the completion of a 36-hour tutoring plan I just started this month (the quant is a real b!tch for this candidate, who hasn't taken a math class since high school!). Even on my best testing day, I expect high verbal / essay scores and middling at best quant scores.  

My questions: 

• Re the writing sample: Do folks dust off and revise UG papers, or spend time researching and writing a new paper altogether? I'm not remotely opposed to the latter, but would welcome any suggestions you all can offer.