MacBook Pro vs Surface Pro, which one is better choice for a grad student in stat?

Stati

I know people who are super happy with both.  Think that you're going to be using R, maybe ssh'ing into a computing cluster at some point, writing LaTeX, maybe programming in Python or C depending on your research. In which environment would you personally feel most comfortable doing these things?

Since RAM is cheap, I would recommend getting the highest RAM possible to run R since it is memory intensive with big data sets. 

Edited by bayessays

Alternatively, are there downsides to using Linux? I've been a software developer for a number of years, and at this point it would be very jarring to move back to Mac or Windows. I'm wondering if any of the common software is known to be a pain on linux.

7 minutes ago, galois said:

Alternatively, are there downsides to using Linux? I've been a software developer for a number of years, and at this point it would be very jarring to move back to Mac or Windows. I'm wondering if any of the common software is known to be a pain on linux.

If you're going to a statistics program, you're probably good. If you're going biostat and need to use SAS, it might be a pain. I would stick with your Linux and deal with any unlikely problem if it comes up - unless you're going to a biostatistics program that forces you to use SAS and doesn't let you remotely access it, you won't encounter anything that will make you buy a new computer.

1 hour ago, bayessays said:

If you're going to a statistics program, you're probably good. If you're going biostat and need to use SAS, it might be a pain. I would stick with your Linux and deal with any unlikely problem if it comes up - unless you're going to a biostatistics program that forces you to use SAS and doesn't let you remotely access it, you won't encounter anything that will make you buy a new computer.