Ways to bolster application for PhD programs after graduation

Hi everyone, I graduated in 2017 and am planning on applying for PhD programs in statistics and biostatistics this year, for admission during fall 2020. I was just wondering if anyone has a sense of what I can do between now and when I apply to boost my chances for getting into top programs. Would appreciate any advice at all!

A bit about me: I have a decent math background (real analysis, measure theoretic probability, other upper level undergrad/intro grad level courses in analysis and algebra that are probably not very relevant to stats), mediocre CS background (a few courses where I haven't done too great), spent time after graduating working as a data analyst for a public health program, have a couple of math publications from an REU, and currently am in a volunteering program abroad. I'm done with the GRE + GRE subject test and am comfortable with the scores. I'm just wondering whether there's anything I could be doing right now to help my chances. Some more concrete questions:

1) I don't know much about stats (my background in school was very much pure math). In particular, I have no clue about potential research interests. What's a good way to go about learning more about potential research interests? How important is it to have informed research interests during application season?