Harvard MPA/ID Without Funding - Defer and try for WWS/funding or go this year

meshoome

Hello all,

I was fortunate enough to get into HKS's MPA/ID program with zero funding. I am a 28 year old  India male. I have a bachelors in engineering, have worked for a year in a consulting firm, a year in grassroot rural development and for 3 years at J-PAL. I was nominated for the World Bank Joint Japan Scholarship for MPA/ID but I did not apply for it as I didn't think I would be admitted (idiotic, I know!). Other than MPA/ID I applied for Paris School of Economics for both their APE and PPD programs but the results are pending.

I am also fortunate enough to be in a situation where my parents can fund the $170k I need to attend MPA/ID without much difficulty. 

I am considering deferring the admission to apply for Princeton (WWS) MPA next year and to apply for the World Bank Joint Japan Scholarship. Additionally, I have no background in economics and hence I think spending a year being a teaching assistant for econ courses in a university in India will be a good way for me to study basic microecon, macroecon and econometrics as well as brush up on programming before going for the MPA/ID in case I defer my admission. I am considering doing a PhD after the MPA/ID but am unsure at this stage since I have never really studied economics formally and so don't know if I will enjoy the subject enough to go for a PhD. Given this, could someone help me work through this decision.

Apologies for the long post but I have been agonizing over this decision for the past three weeks and have made no headway. 

Thank you all for the discussions on this forum. They have informed the way I have thought about my applications and kept me sane though the process. I hope you are all moving on to bigger and better things in your lives too :)

Hi, wanted to chime in as I am an admit to both of the programs and attended both visiting days.