Scotland postgraduate advice (theological history)

Lawandtheology

I have a few questions and appreciate in advance any advice regarding any or all of these questions.   

(apologies for the length of the intro - but I've seen a lot of responses to others that say more information helps with the advice)

A little background first. I am approaching 50 and I've seen a few posts about it being difficult to enter academia at this age (as if it wasn't hard enough already)...so I am not primarily concerned with getting into the absolute best phd programs in the future (which I might also be precluded from by my age).  Also, I am an attorney who does contract work (by the hour) so working part time on a european phd is convenient for me (though I may take a year off from my studies to reevaluate and apply to funded phd programs).  I have a background in theology, but it would not be considered "academic" (a year at a SB seminary and later a thesis-only MTH in practical theology - 45,000 words and published the 5,000 word version in a non-prestigious peer-reviewed journal).  Then went to law school (University of Texas), graduated in the top 10% and while there published 1) in another non-prestigious peer reviewed theology journal, 2) published a peer-reviewed tax law article, and 3) published 2 more law review articles (not peer-reviewed). Since then I've published another law review article.  None of the articles are in top tier law reviews, and my best law review articles have an overlap of law and theology or history.