Professional school to PhD?

sir-atonin

Hey guys, this is my first time posting on here but I just wanted to reach out and see if anyone has been in/knows someone who has been in a relatively similar situation. I am currently a 2nd year in a Doctorate of Physical Therapy (DPT) program. The degree is a 3 year degree (9 semesters) and a clinical doctorate that prepares you to work clinically as a therapist across multiple settings. It turns out that I do not want to be a physical therapist in any way, shape, or form. I have honestly kept an open mind throughout my first 4 semesters but I strongly dislike what I am currently doing, to put it lightly. I have found solace in research, specifically working in spinal cord injury, which has piqued my interest enough to strongly consider a PhD in neuroscience after I graduate in 2021.

My undergraduate background was a BS in Biology and had a fair exposure to chemistry. Quite honestly, I am a nerd when it comes to physiology, biochem, o chem, etc. and loved learning about the intricacies within each of the respective subjects. My plan is to graduate with my DPT, possibly work for a year or two to gain some clinical insight, then apply to PhD programs.

I also really enjoy teaching so I have been considering teaching and research as my two career paths. I understand that these can both be done together and that certain universities are more geared toward research or academia, but just trying to get a better idea of what's out there and anybody's experience in their own PhD programs.

So long story short if you're in a PhD program what led you down that path, what has your experience been thus far (good or bad), what are the best and/or worst aspects of being in a PhD, and any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Sorry for the excessively long post.

It sounds like you'd be a solid applicant for PhD programs and would have a unique perspective.