Leaving a PhD and reapplying?

S-Kyo

I am doing PhD in political science in a public school ranks of #70-80 in the US. I  received a news from the professor who works in best choice university (#40-50) that they may likely accept me if I apply again.

My current advisor is the one of the best and well known person who works in my research area. I still do not know how to explain that I will reapply again. While I want to leave the program, I still want her to be in my dissertation committee. I am worried about her reaction when I tell her that I will re-apply for my best choice again. (She knows X university was my best choice). What do you think that I should do? How should I explain that I want to apply for another university? What is good way of doing that?

My current program’s low placement, low stipend, and not enough methodological training made me to reapply again this year. As everyone does, I am worried about finding job in the US after PhD.

I am an international student. I speak two languages other then English. My GRE scores are low and I am not going to retake the exam. (I hate GRE). Meanwhile, I am planning to apply for several other schools ranks #15-25. I already had MA in another country before starting the PhD. I have improved my skills in several statistical programs, took several quantitative courses. Presented papers in conferences in two years. Despite a low GRE, would these improvements and developments in my career affect departments decisions in a university #15-25?

What should I do? should I reapply for a program that ranks much better and also fits my research interests or stay in my current program to work with my current well known advisor?