Religious studies, history or scandinavian studies

Sleepless in skellefteå

Hi! I'm a religious studies undergraduate student from the University of Uppsala in Sweden who is currently doing an exchange year in the US and is researching the possibility of also applying to grad school here. The process varies quite a bit from the Swedish one, so excuse me if I ask questions with obvious answers. 

1. I've narrowed down my academic interest to the swedish-american community of the early 20th century. I would either want to research the lutheran churchs role as a gathering force in the early community or how the immigrants choice of denomination impacted their understanding of their own national and ethnic identity. My home university would classify that topic as religious history, a field that falls under the faculty of theology and that is separate from regular history. However, the Divinity schools I've looked up at American universities seems to have a more strict focus on the philosophical study of religion. I'm also probably going to be doing an undergraduate study on the subject with the department of Scandinavian studies at my exchange university. If I applied to a grad school with this project in mind, would it most likely be classified as history, theology or Scandinavian studies?

2. Would I be able to find professors that would take me on as a graduate student? Or is it such a niche subject that the options would be limited/non-existent? Would I need to work with a professor with knowledge in Swedish or would it be enough if the person had expertise in religious developments in 20th century USA? 

Would greatly appreciate if someone wanted to take the time to help me understand the system! 

I'm not 100% clear.  But let me make suggestions: