Molecular epidemiology?

shadiae

As most of us are aware the application season is well underway for fall 2020 graduate programs. I'm having a lot of difficulty deciding the type of program I want to apply to. 

I currently work as a lab tech for a major research institution in the united states. I am starting my second year here and this is the only research experience I have with one publication under my belt. I work in an immunology lab and we do a lot of cell/molecular based research. I enjoy my work here a lot but I often feel as if I'm missing the bigger picture. As such I've started to think about a research career in Epidemiology. However I do still hold a strong interest in how our biological factors (genetics etc) combined with environmental factors (nutrition etc.) contribute to health disparities and health outcomes.

So instead of applying to immunology Phd programs (which I've already begun to do), I've been thinking of getting a PhD in Epidemiology hopefully there are programs that include some aspect of molecular biology in their epi programs (I've found one thus far) 

The other thing is I need a MPH or MsPH in order to be accepted into most Phd Programs for epidemiology. I'd like to keep my focus quantitative and research based. 

I hesitate to apply for masters because I have no experience in public health and do not want to waste time or money if public health field is not what i thought. I need to make a decision quickly so I can get applications in asap. 

Any insight you can provide is greatly appreciated. 

The program at University of Michigan has several professors in Molecular Epidemiology with extensive labs. It's even a concentration for their MPH. At UM SPH, students usually get their MPH first, and then do a 3 year PhD right after.

On 10/4/2019 at 1:19 PM, jmillar said: