Switching Schools

ForeverJung

I am a third year student in a Master's/PhD Program. I received my masters and have been published twice since applying when I did not have any publications. I am finding myself frustrated with my department and do not feel I have the support I would like to have in a graduate program. I have talked to it with my adviser and it has not improved. Since I am a bit more viable of a candidate, I am considering dropping from this school and re-applying to PhD programs as a student who already has their master's degree. Any thoughts or suggestions would be helpful.

2 hours ago, ForeverJung said:

I am a third year student in a Master's/PhD Program. I received my masters and have been published twice since applying when I did not have any publications. I am finding myself frustrated with my department and do not feel I have the support I would like to have in a graduate program. I have talked to it with my adviser and it has not improved. Since I am a bit more viable of a candidate, I am considering dropping from this school and re-applying to PhD programs as a student who already has their master's degree. Any thoughts or suggestions would be helpful.

Be prepared to start all the way over; there was a grad student in the lab I worked for in undergrad who did this and she had to start over (despite having masters) as if she was brand new. She re-took coursework, practica, etc. And that's a rare case. YMMV; this is a hard, personal choice but you sound set on leaving.