When to ask department to switch from PhD to MA?

NatsumeHeidegger

Hi all,

I am currently in my first semester of my PhD program, and I am fairly certain that I do not want to complete the program, but want to take a master's degree and get a job. Now that I'm here, I enjoy academia well enough, but not enough to justify the risk, since it's so competitive. When is the appropriate time to notify my department about my decision? I want to wait a while to make sure I am certain this is what I want to do, but I don't want to wait too long, since the course requirements are different, and since it seems unethical to wait until I am close to the master's to tell them. I also am worried about letting them know right now since it's just my first semester, and I don't want to burn bridges by making it look like I just accepted to get a free MA. If I let them know at this time, is it likely that my funding for next year will be threatened, since PhD students get priority over MA students?

1 hour ago, NatsumeHeidegger said:

Hi all,

I am currently in my first semester of my PhD program, and I am fairly certain that I do not want to complete the program, but want to take a master's degree and get a job. Now that I'm here, I enjoy academia well enough, but not enough to justify the risk, since it's so competitive. When is the appropriate time to notify my department about my decision? I want to wait a while to make sure I am certain this is what I want to do, but I don't want to wait too long, since the course requirements are different, and since it seems unethical to wait until I am close to the master's to tell them. I also am worried about letting them know right now since it's just my first semester, and I don't want to burn bridges by making it look like I just accepted to get a free MA. If I let them know at this time, is it likely that my funding for next year will be threatened, since PhD students get priority over MA students?