Language Requirements

chelsea_soccer

As an undergraduate I passed 4 semesters of spanish with Bs, and I've noticed that pretty much every MA and PhD program I look at says it requires language proficiency in a second language. I am studying early american history so I don't really plan on using that second language at all. In fact, I don't think I remember very much of what i learned and I'm really nervous how well I'll perform if they ask me to prove that I can still read spanish. 

Essentially, I am wondering if the MA programs will take a look at my undergrad transcript and say "yep, 4 semesters of spanish. Good enough, check." or if I'll have to take some sort of exam upon arrival? I guess if the latter is the case then I'll have to rosetta stone and try to brush up. Please help! and feel free to expand beyond the scope of my question if you know what I should be asking rather than what I am. Thanks!

As an undergraduate I passed 4 semesters of spanish with Bs, and I've noticed that pretty much every MA and PhD program I look at says it requires language proficiency in a second language. I am studying early american history so I don't really plan on using that second language at all. In fact, I don't think I remember very much of what i learned and I'm really nervous how well I'll perform if they ask me to prove that I can still read spanish. 

Essentially, I am wondering if the MA programs will take a look at my undergrad transcript and say "yep, 4 semesters of spanish. Good enough, check." or if I'll have to take some sort of exam upon arrival? I guess if the latter is the case then I'll have to rosetta stone and try to brush up. Please help! and feel free to expand beyond the scope of my question if you know what I should be asking rather than what I am. Thanks!

Any early Americanists out there want to chime in on how lingually diverse early America was?

Any early Americanists out there want to chime in on how lingually diverse early America was?