Leaving 2nd Masters?

dolorita

In a bit of a dilemma. Would appreciate any advice.

I earned an MSW degree years ago and recently started a second MA in Clinical Psychology. My hope was that the MA Clinical Psychology would give me additional research experience and additional letters of recommendation to increase my chances of getting into PhD Clinical Psychology programs. But now that I'm in the program - I'm a little disheartened with the quality of the program. I'm not getting as much hands on experience or productivity as I hope for in the research labs I'm in. (The MA program is the money maker for the school and they allow a lot of students in; who I am also competing with for the research positions). I'm not getting as much financial aid as I was initially offered, and would be required to take out additional loans. The program and the city is really expensive.. On top of all of that, I realize, in hindsight, that there are doctoral programs that I could've still applied to (etc. PsyD, PhD Counseling Psychology,) and there are less expensive ways for me to gain research experience, that perhaps would be better quality. 

Undergrad GPA is 3.09; 3.79 - major (psychology); MSW GPA is 3.80. My GRE scores are low and old, so I'm already planning to take it again. Have mostly clinical experience. And less than a year of research experience. 

I'm getting ready for finals now but I'm considering taking a leave of absence after this semester. Would spend the next year or so working/volunteering a lab, saving up $, studying for GRE to apply to both PhD Clinical/Counseling and PsyD programs (William James, PGSP Stanford Consortium, and Baylor)  the next application season (Fall 2021). Thoughts? Do I have a chance at getting into a PsyD/PhD Clinical Psychology program without a Masters in Clinical Psychology?

This whole situation has been giving me so much anxiety for past few weeks as I'm trying to decide what to do.

I appreciate any input. Thanks!