Anxiety while doing research and communicating with my advisor

nervynewcomer

I am a first year PhD student and I've been through hell in my first semester. My adviser is world-renowned for his research and I was fortunate to have been accepted into the program by him. I have a hard time communicating with him because he has been travelling a lot the past semester and secondly I am intimidated by him due to which I haven't had good discussions with him so far. At one point he has questioned my motivation/interest in pursuing a PhD which is when I realized that I must have done something wrong. With coursework and preparation for my qualifiers, I have been feeling so overwhelmed that I can't really organize my thoughts and communicate what I have been researching so far. I have heard from the other students that he is not pushy or mean but I feel that I am being treated unfairly by him. Any suggestions on how to improve my relationship with my adviser would be highly appreciated. Thanks.

You should write down the message you would like to convey to him. Write it down so that you have a better idea of what you want to say to him the next time you meet with him. Maybe his style of mentorship does not work for you, therefore it is incumbent upon you to explain what works for you and him to try to satisfy your needs. That's what a good mentor would do. If things do not work out, dont be afraid to switch labs. But I warn you, it may be frowned upon.

Hello NK Advocate,

Thanks for your suggestions. I was aware of the style of mentorship before I accepted to be his student and I expected that I will be able to adjust to it. I was previously working with an advisor who was a little more hands-on which used to be a source of motivation for me. I haven't been able to adjust well with the new place and the new environment (being away from home, new people and country). I also came to the conclusion that I may have the impostor syndrome (I feel like I've had this forever).