Rejecting an PhD offer after accepting

2bphd

Dear friends,

I have a very good phd offer from a university with an awesome funding package.

But I just interviewed with my dream company for a job that I would love to do. But the problem is that they are going to give a decision in May.

My situation is:

1) If I get a job offer (I m almost sure I will) from this company, I have no doubt that I will accept it.

2)But I will have to accept the offer for phd by april 15th.

So, My plan is to accept the phd offer and if i get the job , just reject the offer. That is I want to keep it as a backup if I dont get the job.

Are you legally bound if you accept the offer from a univ?? what complications are expected?

I think there can be a problem if I accept an offer from one univ and then want to go to another univ. Then I have to get the release form and everything. But this is a different story.

What do u guys think??

http://www.cgsnet.org/portals/0/pdf/CGS_Resolution.pdf

"... However, an acceptance given or left in force after April 15 commits the student not to accept another offer without first obtaining a written release from the institution to which a commitment has been made. Similarly, an offer by an institution after April 15 is conditional on presentation by the student of the written release from any previously accepted offer."

Point one. Legally you are okay. The resolution clearly states that you can't go to another school, but nothing about a private job.

Point two. Ethically you are NOT okay. You are, as I'm sure you know, taking a position away from a deserving student. Perhaps they'll get off the waitlist, if your school has one. But they will know late in the game, which will cause that person undue stress. It's not fair.