Should I go for a PhD degree?

Ran_Chen

Hi guys. I will start to work on my master degree in counseling this fall, but I just can't decide if I really want continue to a PhD degree.

I have passion about research, and also have several potential research ideas. But I'm not sure if I can handle the pressure and spend 6-8 years on this. 

A PhD degree will absolutely be helpful for my future career, but the cost can be high: not only the financial things, but also homesick and family issues (I'm an international student).

I am wondering what I should know before I make the decision, and what personal characteristics I should have if I choose this way. Also, do you have any suggestion about my situation?

Would the PhD be in counselling?
I'm not very familiar with the clinical/counselling field, but one thing that keeps coming up is whether you need the PhD to do what you want to do in the future. You allude to the idea that a PhD would be helpful for your future career. Is it a necessity to do the job you want to do? Or is it more of a plus? For many people in applied fields, having a PhD is not necessary to do their job well and succeed financially. While a PhD will teach you many things for the 5 years you trade, those 5 years can also be seen as an opportunity cost in which you are losing potential time/earnings. You'll need to ask yourself, should your end goal be in a highly applied field, whether that opportunity cost is worth the degree.
However, if you have any interest in pursuing research as your goal career (especially academically), then the PhD would make much more sense and may even be essential for certain jobs (academically and industry wise).