University of St. Augustine SLP Program

Hey ya'll,

Just wanted to give you all a heads up on the University of St. Augustine. This is an online program that is currently in candidacy for accreditation. First and foremost, I would like to highlight that you should always do your research on schools and ask questions about their philosophy on teaching before you apply. St. Augustine offers a 20 month curriculum with all online classes and 4 in person clinical immersions (where you fly into campus) and 1 where you return to graduate, for a total of 5 times you will visit the campus (Dallas or Austin). Here is the scope: St. Augustine is a self-taught program meaning you will be assigned to read book chapters, articles and will be given a few slides for each weeks module. There are no pre-recorded lectures, study guides or student-teacher interactions (other than the in person clinicals). With that in mind, you must be really disciplined and committed 200% into school work. Before applying make sure this learning style is adequate for yourself. As for grading, doing the work assignments will earn you a B, you must go above and beyond to earn a 100% (we are still trying to figure out what this means exactly). There are no examples on how you should turn in work and no examples will be given. If this is your learning style wonderful! Before applying keep this in mind. 

Thanks for the heads up. I wonder why they don't offer live classes where you can interact with the professor in real time?

• 9 months later...

As a student there, I can say pre-recorded lectures, study guides, and teacher interactions vary by class. I would say about half the classes meet every other week via zoom and some only for midterm and final reviews. You do not have to go above and beyond to earn A's. Just being able to demonstrate that you understand the material and can apply it will earn you an A. All assignment requirements are listed and examples can be given if you ask the professor.