When to start asking PIs for lab rotation positions??

PathHopeful

Hi everyone! I'll be starting my PhD in Biophysics in the fall, and am wondering when the appropriate time is to start emailing PIs about rotations.

I already know which PIs I want to ask for a rotation position with, but is it too early to send those emails? The program website says that a list of labs hosting rotation students will be given out (doesn't say when though) and additional guidance will be provided by advisors during orientation week, but I have a feeling the labs I'm interested in are going to be highly sought after, hence my wanting to ask early. Do most people wait until orientation week to choose their rotation labs?! 

Side note: I'm locked in at my current job until the end of August, so I can't do a summer rotation- I'll spend my whole first year doing my three rotations, one each quarter. However, I currently work in a lab on campus at the university where I'm going for grad school, so emailing early and meeting with PIs early is still an option for me.

If any current/former science PhD students could share their timeline or any other experiences with asking for lab rotations, I'd really really appreciate it!!!

Over the summer would be plenty early. And if the program has told you that they'll be providing a list of available labs, you can definitely wait until they send that out. It probably depends on the program, but I wouldn't be surprised if they expect you to wait until orientation week if the website seems to allude to that

Also, I'd recommend only contacting the first lab (and possibly the second) for now. Your interests may change over the course of the year, or you may learn about new labs that you weren't aware of before, and you don't want to lock yourself into anything a year in advance. For example, I ended up joining a lab that I didn't even know existed when I applied