Info for Future Applicants (especially those interested in assistantships/WICHE schools)

Hi all! I am a senior undergraduate student making my decisions about graduate schooling. I applied to 9 schools (more than most!) with the hopes of gaining a graduate assistantship. I wanted a new experience out-of-state but at a reasonable price. I applied with a GPA of 3.93 and a GRE score of 306. I figured this breakdown might help future applicants get a more realistic breakdown of costs. Additionally, it may be helpful for future students hoping to obtain a GA assistantship. If I could go back and give myself a word of advice, it would be "retake the GRE!!" Although my score was high enough for admission, I've learned that most schools grant funding, in-state waivers, and GA positions based on GRE scores so if that's what you're going for I would highly recommend studying hard for the GRE. Several of these schools told me that my GRE scores were not high enough to offer an in-state waiver or an assistantship position. Again this advice is obviously only true to some of these schools and not too all schools across the country...

All of the tuition costs are broken down by the credits of these specific universities and housing costs were based on an average found at rentjungle.com. Obviously housing costs differ significantly depending on your living situation. Ultimately I totaled the cost of my full degree with the cost of 20 months of rent at any of these locations using the averages. I was a WICHE applicant from CA and was shockingly surprised by the expenses of these schools even with the WGRP Waiver. Obviously travel costs and distances will differ depending on your home location. I calculated most of these on Google Maps or Google Flight.