Texas Woman’s University SLP Distance Program 2020

Hello all, 

I just wanted to talk to people who got into TWU’s SLP Distance Program cohort 2020. I know they accept every two years and I wanted to know how hard was it to get in. 

Im an out-fielder undergrad at TWU and I plan to take my leveling courses there. 

How was the process? How are the classes like? And any other feedback you can tell me. It would be much appreciated.  I plan to apply next cohort. 

• 2 weeks later...

Hey- I’m in cycle 10. I was looking at the page with my coworker who may be applying. I think they are waiving the GRE requirement for Cycle 11 due to COVID-19. As far as difficulty to get in, I know you need 3 solid recommendations- I got mine from 2 SLPs- 1 previous supervisor and my current supervisor. My 3rd recommendation was from my special education director. I’m sure that helped a lot to have my sped director’s recommendation letter since you need a sponsoring school district. I also had a really good, honest personal statement letter outlining why I needed to transition from a SLPA to a SLP and how that will benefit both myself professionally and my district. My GRE scores were in the 150 area and a 5 on my writing. Since that’s not going to be factored in, I would HIGHLY suggest that you do extremely well this semester and summer if you’re taking summer courses to have a good GPA. Mine was 3.75 I think for my last 60 hours. I think now, more than ever GPA of your last 60 hours of credit, great recommendations (preferably from professors, those in the field or someone like a special ed director where you will obtain your practicum hours at) and personal statement will count most.