Staying in undergrad for extra year? Help with strengthening application for next cycle!

Averyy

Question

I'm trying to prepare to apply to master's programs for next year, Fall 2021. I applied for this application cycle and got into 1/5. 

I am a Liberal Studies major looking to continue on in academia and study English (rhetoric, critical and cultural theories). I applied to masters programs for this Fall. I only got into one program, it wasn’t one of my top choices and I did not get funding. They recommended their online program which is more affordable, I chose not to do either.

I will be speaking with my advisor but the earliest appointment available is the end of next week, I also at this point feel conflicted about the advice I have already gotten from them. Not completely their fault, now getting some outside advice I realize I didn't fully understand how to prepare (pick classes, do undergrad research, etc). I am an online student and I only have professors for 7 week courses; I didn't create some connections with professors but I am sure it is not the same as with in-person classes. So, I think there is a chance my LOR's were on the weak side.

My gpa was a lot lower than I would have liked (3.0/4.0), I did not take the GRE because the programs I applied to did not require it. I may take it this time around to apply to more programs. 

I have not graduated yet I am in my last semester--

QUESTION: I’m curious if it would be beneficial to stay in undergrad for another year to try and get a research position (I haven’t done any research) and do a minor to boost my gpa. I could do a minor in English and I’m thinking this would look good on my transcripts as well since I’m trying to get into English programs. I only took 4 upper division English courses. It would also possibly allow me to network/get better LORs. I am assuming this could help me get into other programs next round.