How do you work with a laid-back professor? Thank you for your advice!

wasabigirl

Hello everyone,               (sorry this question is long, but I am just so confused and worried. I appreciate your support). 

I am now doing my PhD in Clinical Psychology. My supervisor is a very friendly woman. She got her tenure about few years ago and is in her early 40s. She is approachable. She likes to chat with students (chatting about travels, her family and teaching experience). She is a great instructor. A lot of students told me that she teaches very well. However, I have found her supervising style is not a good fit for me that she is super super hands-off. 

I am just entering to my second year, and there's another student who recently defended his thesis and will go to his internship in September. I remember when last year I entered the program, he didn't tell me much. He just said our supervisor is friendly but alright with research. He didn't go into details. I think he didn't want to speak ill of our  supervisor. At that time, I was not accepted into other PhD program in Clinical Psychology, so I chose to come here. I enjoyed all my course work, and my peers are quite friendly, but I don't really like my lab environment. 

I don't know if I should change a supervisor, but I am worried that I will upset her since she is the one who gave me interview and accepted me. Without her, I would not have a school to go. I am also thinking about volunteering in a second lab, but I am not sure if that would work. I appreciate the support and advice from all of you. Here are the reason: