US F-1 Visa Application - London/Belfast Appointments

biochem899

Question

Hi everyone! I'm an international student currently studying in the UK. 

I was accepted into a PhD programme in the US and am now trying to apply for an F-1 visa. Due to the travel ban and closure of consulates/embassies worldwide, I am quite worried about getting my visa on time - I assume I am not the only one. I tried to schedule an appointment in my home country (Germany), however, appointments are fully booked until December. Thus, I was wondering if anyone is in a similar situation and has tried to schedule a visa appointment in the UK (London/Belfast)? I'd rather not pay the application fee for the UK as well unless I know more about appointment availability - unfortunately, I was not given any information on this when calling the embassy in London.

Thanks in advance and fingers crossed for our visas!!

7 answers to this question

Aren't routine nonimmigrant visa services suspended in embassies/consulates worldwide? Or so I was led to believe by my local consulate.
I might still have a chance at arranging for an expedited appointment in my country, but it seems like such appointments are currently reserved for "emergencies" that no longer include travel for studies. In any case, you might want to check if the Belfast/London consulates offer such an option so you might be able to get around the current suspension of visa services. 

8 hours ago, cruel optimism said:

Aren't routine nonimmigrant visa services suspended in embassies/consulates worldwide? Or so I was led to believe by my local consulate.
I might still have a chance at arranging for an expedited appointment in my country, but it seems like such appointments are currently reserved for "emergencies" that no longer include travel for studies. In any case, you might want to check if the Belfast/London consulates offer such an option so you might be able to get around the current suspension of visa services.