Low GPA

cockroach

Hi, 

I am going to apply for philosophy PhD programs in the USA, and I am so nervous about my undergrad GPA. I know lots of people asked a similar question; however, I could not find anyone who has a similar story. I am a philosophy student in one of the best university in a third-world country. However, being one of the best university in my country does not make it known in the USA. I had terrible problems with my life (causing by political situations) which makes me fall in a rush depression while I was not able to give any name about what I was experiencing. After I understood what the problem about myself is, I started to study so hard while also I was struggling with my economic issues. My undergraduate GPA is 3.12, and the highest GPA of the department in my graduate year is 3.6. It means, in my university, it is not easy to have a high GPA. Then, I started an MA in the same university, and my GPA is 3.8; by the way, the only semester which I did not work, my GPA was 4.0. 

During these 6 months, I will just focus on my PhD applications. I will give lots of money, at least 1000 dollar, which was not easy to earn. So, I need some advice, some comment about my situation to make my mind clear to not hesitate and feel relax during these 6 months. I will apply DePaul, PennState, Emory, Stony Brook, Villanova, Duquesne, Ohio State, Purdue, Oregon, Kentucky, South Florida, Loyola, Vanderbilt.

I have lots of non-academic philosophy experience—reading groups, gatherings, non-academic summer schools, translations etc. Everyone has a talent, and I think mine is abstract and conceptual thinking, I am good at philosophy although I am not a Nietzsche of course. However, I am good at writing, as my professors say. With my advisor, we are studying on my article to publish it. I submit another article and wait for an answer. Probably, I will have 2 publications until the end of the year. I think my SOP, WS and LOR will not be below perfect.