PhD in Social Welfare or Psychology?

ConfusedClinician

I am currently an associate level clinical social worker working in an inpatient hospital as a DBT/RO-DBT therapist. I still have about two more years until I become an LCSW in my state. I graduated with my BSW at GMU (3.89 GPA) and MSW at UW (3.98 GPA) with one co-authored publication from my bachelors around dementia care using music interventions. I am currently in a professional training program to become a Registered Expressive Arts Therapist on top of a Licensed Clinical Social Worker. My question is would I benefit more from a PhD in Psychology or Social Welfare/Social Work?

My long-term goals are to open up an expressive arts therapy center catering primarily towards immigrants, first-gen, and international students that overall provides affordable mental health services for these populations as well as provide a space for social work students to develop themselves clinically as a practicum placement. I would also like to become a social work professor to teach and do research back in the DC area on top of working towards opening up a therapeutic center. Although these goals are ambitious, my main priority is to become a professor after getting my LCSW and REAT.

My primary research interests would be revolving around parentification, mood & personality disorders, over-controlled coping mechanisms, culture shock, social withdrawal (hikikomori), and creating new interventions around expressive arts therapy. 

I am only 23 and a first-gen student, so a PhD sounds daunting, but I believe that is my next goal I would like to work towards after I obtain my licenses. I am just unsure if there are any true advantages for getting a PhD in Psychology compared to Social Work. I love social work's social justice foundation, but I believe psychology would help me develop a stronger clinical perspective. I was also considering University of Michigan's Joint PhD in Social Work and Psychology.

• 2 weeks later...