Fall 2021 Profile Evaluation - MS Data Science / Analytics (Non-STEM Background)

Hey all,

First and foremost thank you for reading my profile evaluation.

I'd love to hear your feedback on my stats, the programs I've selected, my chances of admission, and if there are any programs that you'd suggest I consider given my profile. I am a student with a non-STEM background and I have the bare minimum prerequisite courses to apply to these programs (with good grades thankfully). I am hoping that through my GRE score and LOR/SOP (which I'm still writing) I'll be able to catch the attention of at least one admissions committee, and secure a spot in one of these programs. My ultimate goal is to acquire the technical background necessary to transition from Finance to Data Science.

Thanks for your time, and I'm looking forward to hearing what you all think!

Undergrad Institution: Large State school Decent/Good Business School

GPA: 3.64

Majors: Business Admin - Finance

GRE General Test:
Q:
V: 164
W: 5.0

Relevant Course Work:

• Calculus I & II (A-,A)
  • Business Stats (A-)
  • Linear Algebra I (A)
  • Intro to CS (A)
  • By the time of matriculation (As in I'm planning on taking these in the near future):
    • Calculus III, Multivariate Calculus
    • Data Structures and Algorithms

Type of Student:  Domestic Student (native US)

Programs Applying: Masters in Data Science mostly, some Masters in Analytics. My goal is to pivot careers into DS.

Research Experience: None (as you probably guessed given my background)

Letters of Recommendation: 

• One great one from business capstone professor
  • Two very good ones from internship in market research & Analytics department (One Data Scientist, One Marketing Manager)

Work Experience: