International Relations Graduate Admissions and Masters Programs - UChicago CIR

Hawkins1879

Hello!

I am a current undergraduate at a Big10 midwest school studying Political Science with a concentration in International Relations, with minors in History and German Commercial Studies. I am slightly different of an applicant in that I am currently a sophomore but plan on graduating this upcoming May (i.e. graduating in four semesters) - I had a lot of AP credit and took full courseloads.

Could anyone chance me for IR masters and grad program admissions? I am specifically highly interested in UChicago's CIR program as it is more academic in nature and I thought that it would be a great addition and complement to my situation, building off of my current knowledge of International Relations.

I have good grades (3.95 GPA) but I have not taken the GRE since I am mainly focused on school and graduating. If anyone could give me any tips and advice that would be such a huge help! Or if anyone knows other masters programs that may sound of interest that I should apply to please let me know!

• 2 weeks later...

Hey! Great to see you are looking at CIR! I am applying to PhD programs this cycle but I am also applying to CIR because PhD admissions are a total crap-shoot and its a great program. One of the profs I do work with is a CIR alumnus and he thought I'd be a strong candidate for significant funding with my 3.7 GPA, a thesis, and strong LORs. My point being, I'm not sure what a strong CIR candidate looks like but thats my profile and he thinks its good. Make of that what you will.