Getting kicked out of PhD.. covid, supervision, and the UK

Hello all,

I have never posted on a forum like this before, and was hoping that some of you might have some advice. I am a current PhD student, at one of the top schools in the UK, and am getting kicked out of a second PhD. I am kind of losing it.. any advice anyone has would help.

I graduated from undergrad at an Ivy League, with a 4.0 GPA. I was admitted into a doctoral programme at Cambridge in 2016 (the year I graduated from my combined undergrad/ma). I was there for 1.5 years and my supervising professor retired (I passed my QT, and then he decided he was leaving, it was a personal issue with his wife and I do not blame him). I spent nearly a year trying to find alternative supervision. My project area was extremely specific, and it wasn't going to happen. Every alternative supervisor wanted to significantly modify the project, and I just could not figure out how to make it work. I took the university's offer of leaving with a (second) masters degree, and decided to leave and start again.