A couple of questions for undergrad

tokingphd

I am planning on applying for a statistics/biostatistics PhD and I am definitely not going to get a good grade in one of my classes (mathematical finance) and probably will utilize P/F instead of a letter grade -- how bad does this look?

Also I see that a lot of people have a ton of research, how exactly do you go about finding it? Just emailing professors? I go to a large public school but I haven't had that much success finding research actually related to statistics

Hi! I am an undergrad currently doing research part-time. I’d like to share my experience regarding your second question. I applied for research related positions at my school and other research institutes via email, which includes,

1.      A single-page CV,  

2.      A copy of my official transcript, and

3.      A statement of purpose, stating my background, why I would like to conduct research, and my future plan.

I recommend submitting to professors/researchers whose research interests intrigue you. Many of them have their interest posted on either the faculty page or their personal websites. It might also be a good idea to skim through the titles of their publications to know what they are doing.

After that, if lucky enough, some may respond and ask you over for an interview. From what I have experienced, the interview would be less technical and something like:

What kind of research topic would you like to do?

How long would you be able to stay in the research group?

What would you like to do in the future? etc….

They normally don’t expect you to know too much of what they are doing.

15 hours ago, tokingphd said:

I am planning on applying for a statistics/biostatistics PhD and I am definitely not going to get a good grade in one of my classes (mathematical finance) and probably will utilize P/F instead of a letter grade -- how bad does this look?