(Is there any) reason to do a stand alone MA program in Sociology?

julesevar

I have wanted to pursue a Master's in Sociology to see if I would eventually get a PhD. I already have a Master's degree in Public Affairs and work at a non-profit.  I have looked at the various schools I am interested in to see what kind of jobs that PhD's have been getting and it seems that many students at the MA and PhD level are working in government and non-profits in various roles. These roles really don't require a PhD in my opinion. So I have been tossing around various ideas in my head about pursuing a MA. I am also an older student. At 49 years of age I may bee to "old" to do anything with Sociology that I don't already do.  

I have been advised by some people to just go online and take some coursera courses in the statistical realm to look for research positions in state government. Any thoughts for me on this topic?

I generally think a PhD is too long to be in school unless you really want to do research, get NIH/NSF grants, be a professor, or lead a major research organization. I'm certainly no expert though. Why are you considering a masters in Sociology specifically? I am in a Masters of Public Health program now. It has the advantage of offering an accelerated one year program for mid career students. I also did my bachelors in statistics and worked as a statistician for the federal government, so I have some thoughts on what is needed for government research careers. 

On 12/26/2020 at 4:46 PM, cec2021 said: